Parish church of San Giorgio
The Church can be visited every Saturday in July and August from 2.30pm to 5pm, organized by the Library.
Possibility of accompanied visits by calling the phone number indicated in the “Contacts” section.
The parish church dedicated to St. George boasts ancient origins: it was in fact already mentioned in a Papal Bull by Alexander III in 1176. The building was rebuilt during the early decades of the XVIII century and in 1742 the Gilardi brothers created the statues on the triumph beam. Other almost full renovations took place in 1833, while in 1897 the interior was frescoed by Alessandro and Augusto Artari, painters from Verrès.
- the three altars, dating from the XVIII century and in Baroque style, in carved, painted and gilded wood;
- the choir lift, decorated with original caryatids
- the nineteenth-century pulpit in walnut, composed of various sculptured panels.
The parish church museum contains, among other things, the following pieces:
- bas-relief depicting Our Lady of Mercy, dating from around 1600, perhaps originally from the chapel in Ruine, which was destroyed by a flood in the XVII century
- bas-relief depicting St. George, the princess and the dragon, dating from the first half of the XVII century
- numerous, precious sculptures and sacred furnishings.