The Duke of Abruzzi Alpine Museum

Courmayeur

opening days and times Prices Rules for visitors

Materials, historical uniforms, mountain clothing and curious objects bear witness to more than 150 years of history of the fascinating profession of mountain guide.

Located inside the historic House of the Mountain Guides, it was built on wish of Luigi Amedeo of Savoy and inaugurated in 1929.

The museum is currently spread over two floors with an exhibition itinerary characterized by numerous thematic sections that retrace the various stages in the history of the profession of Alpine Guide.

The Museum possesses a conspicuous heritage consisting of documents, photographs, mountaineering equipment and memorabilia that belonged to the Alpine Guides of Courmayeur and preserves the precious booklets compiled at the end of each excursion which also contain exciting anecdotes.

A showcase is dedicated to the polar expedition of the Duke of Abruzzi in which famous mountain guides from Courmayeur took part.
Also on display is the pole used by the Courmayeur guides in their attempts to climb the south ridge of the Aiguille Noire du Peuterey.

Contact

Società Guide Alpine Courmayeur
Strada per il Villair, 2
11013 COURMAYEUR (AO)
Meteo
Meteo

Details
Aosta
°C
°C
Tourist Areas
Tourist Areas

Mont Blanc

Gran Paradiso

Great Saint Bernard

Aosta and surroundings

Matterhorn

Monte Rosa

Central Valley

Webcam
Webcam
Arpy

Webcams map       Resort
Courmayeur - Courba Dzeleuna

Webcams map       Resort
Courmayeur - Val Ferret

Webcams map       Resort
La Thuile

Webcams map       Resort